Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

One mile closer to the Portland Marathon

Posted by bunchgrasser on April 21, 2008

 

As I mentioned in my bio, I’m training to run the Portland Marathon this October. You should know that I didn’t just wake up one day and decide to run a marathon. For anyone that is interested, I’ve shortened my story that began several years ago to a (mercifully) brief summary below. 

I, not unlike others before me, woke up one day and realized that calories had overtaken my metabolism in the daily struggle for supremacy in my body. I wasn’t really overweight – but I was very out of shape. Sitting at a desk daily for almost two decades didn’t exactly help as it turns out. And, in retrospect, working for a very, very large software company located in the state of Washington for almost 6 years wasn’t a great fitness move for me personally either. In all fairness, some of my peers stayed active and fit. Me, I gleefully lapped up all of the company sponsored team lunches, customer lunches, partner buffets & trade show spreads that I could. And there were many, many I tell you – but I digress.

So, back to my story. I did what most all inexperienced runners do – I bought a cheap pair of (Saucony) running shoes and hit the pavement. In the short span of a couple of weeks I had broken just about every rule pertaining to running (and ramping up in moderation). Needless to say, I endured some pain in a few places. Well, actually a lot of pain in a lot of places as I recall. Anyhoo – fast forward a few years, and I’ve managed to educate myself on the finer points of running (building a base, limiting mileage increases, stretching, crosstraining, listening to your body, etc).

To date, I’ve enjoyed running a couple of 5k’s, an 8k, a sprint triathlon and a half marathon. I’m planning to run the Helvetia Half Marathon this June, and then the Portland Marathon in October. Assuming I remain injury-free, the half marathon should be a breeze. However, I’m not so confident about the full marathon. I’ve joined Portland Fit, which is a 27 week training program for the Portland marathon. We are in week 4 and it has been a great experience so far. We have an information seminar and then do a training run every Saturday morning. They also provide a free 5 minute massage after the run also.

I’m currently logging around 12-15 miles mid-week and a 6-7 miler on the weekend. I’ll continue to post updates on this blog periodically as well.

 

 

One Response to “One mile closer to the Portland Marathon”

  1. DENNIS said

    RUNNING IS GREAT, AND WILL KEEP YOU FIT. JUST REMEMBER THOSE KNEES, HIPS, AND FEET HAVE TO LAST YOU A LIFETIME! DONT WEAR EM OUT.
    PICTURES OF BEER GIRLS WOULD SPRUCE UP THIS SITE REAL NICE LIKE!
    PEACE OUT FROM THE OTHER MCMILLAN’S.

Leave a Reply

 
