Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

Athlete dies while competing in the Pacific Crest Triathlon

Posted by bunchgrasser on July 2, 2008

I just heard about the tragic death at the Pacific Crest Triathlon in Sunriver. We’re all aware of the risks we take when pushing our bodies to the limit, but it is just so shocking when something like this happens.  

 Per Katie Braun’s, The Bulletin article:

Patrick Findlay, of Renton, Wash., was swimming in Wickiup Reservoir, the first leg of the three-stage race, when he suffered an unknown medical problem and swam to a nearby boat for help, said Sgt. Ronny Dozier of the Deschutes County Sheriff’s Office. Volunteers helped Findlay onto a jet ski and took him to shore, where they attempted to resuscitate him.

Emergency personnel from the Sheriff’s Office, U.S. Forest Service and La Pine emergency medical technicians were alerted at 9:40 a.m. and responded to the scene, but Dozier said Findlay was pronounced dead before he could be taken to the hospital.

One Response to “Athlete dies while competing in the Pacific Crest Triathlon”

  1. Susan Filler said

    I was in the water when Patrick died. Almost exactly 6 months to this event, I collapsed during a training run and I was one of the few to survive my type of cardiac death event-with the help of a friend. I found out after 47 yrs that I have a rare genetic heart disease. I did my first race with my ICD that day. God Bless Patrick-that could have been any of us. My heart is heavy with my memories-for this man.

Leave a Reply

 
