Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

Metal Detecting – Treasures in the soil

Posted by bunchgrasser on July 31, 2008

My family and friends know that I’m into metal detecting as a hobby. Two things that I’ve always been interested in are old things with some history, and coins. So using a metal detector to locate and recover old coins, jewelry and other assorted metallic objects is a great activity for me.

I had a toy metal detector as a kid, but I didn’t buy my first real detector (Fisher CZ-70 Pro) until I was in my late 30’s. I’ve since bought another one (White’s MXT) which is my detector of choice these days.

I recovered this 1926 silver Mercury dime a couple of weeks ago in a school field in Portland. It’s only my second Mercury dime so I was pretty excited. It was about 3 inches down in very hard soil. I have some other recent finds that I will post as well.

Cheers

One Response to “Metal Detecting – Treasures in the soil”

  1. Nice Merc!!! Still looking for my first! Left you a short comment on your Bio page.
    Ron

Leave a Reply

 
