Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

Metal Detecting – River beach hunt produces 2 rings and more

Posted by bunchgrasser on August 22, 2008

I had a day off last week during our heat spell and decided to try my luck at a local river beach. The temp was expected to rise well over 100 degrees so I figured being near the water would be a little cooler.

I arrived early in the morning at a beach that I had detected last summer. After an hour or so I hadn’t found much so I decided to move to another beach further down the river. Over the next 3-4 hours I covered a large section of the beach pretty hard with my White’s MXT  and my long handled sand scoop. It was clear that no one had detected this section of the beach recently.

I found the necklace and bracelet in the wet sand area near the river. However, both rings were found up high on the beach in the dry sand near trees and bushes. None of the jewelry is valuable, but my treasure box keeps filling up and I know that I’m 2 rings closer to the finding the “big one”.

 

Leave a Reply

 
