Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

Metal detecting – One park, three rings

Posted by bunchgrasser on August 28, 2008

My brother-in-law Dave and I hit a couple of parks early in the morning this past Sunday. The first park didn’t give up more than a few clad coins and had lots of trash, so we headed to another park that I found using Google maps.

We spent a few minutes in the tot lot and then moved on to the open grass field. I recovered what appeared to be a silver ring about 3-4 inches down under a tree along the fence row. It’s the ring on the right in the first pic. I cleaned it up but couldn’t find a stamp on it. It could be a mood ring as it has some kind of greenish-gray, opaque material around the outside.

While I continued to work my way down the fence row digging lots and lots of pulltabs, David meandered around the field. Awhile later he came over and asked if I found anything good – and then showed me a big 10k gold mens ring with a dark red stone in it (second pic). My mouth dropped open when I saw it because it is a really cool looking ring. And as luck would have it – the ring fits him perfectly!

Needless to say I was jealous, so I furiously went back to swinging and dug a bunch more pulltabs and a few coins. As I was slowly making my way back to the truck I got another hit and recovered my second ring for the day. Unfortunately it wasn’t stamped either and apparently lost a fight with a lawn mower because it was creased on one side.

All in all it was a great day of detecting and I’m happy that Dave took a gold ring home. It was my first trip out with my new Super 12″ Spider coil on the MXT. I’m pleased to say that it worked very well, especially at the second park which had a lot less trash than the first one we hit.

Cheers

One Response to “Metal detecting – One park, three rings”

  1. looks like you guys had a very prodective hunt!! Congratz!

Leave a Reply

 
