Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

18 miler turns into 16 miler

Posted by bunchgrasser on September 8, 2008

I postponed my 18 mile benchmark run until Sunday morning so that I could spend most of Saturday cleaning and staining the cedar deck in my back yard. The “honey-do” list has gotten quite large as the summer winds down and I needed to get a few projects completed, this being one of them. As it turns out, that was a colossal mistake on my part. Spending several hours on hands and knees the day before attempting your longest run is not advised. I now know that – duh!

In short, I wasn’t able to run the full 18 miles. I stopped after 16 because my right knee was hurting pretty bad. My hams and glutes were sore from the beginning of my run (my deck project was like doing squats for 5 hours). I still hit another personal DR as my previous record was 15 miles for a single run. I should be happy about the 16 mile DR – but I’m disappointed that I missed my goal of 18 miles. You know how it is with us stubborn, competitive people. I also got another blister (in a different place this time) and two of my toenails are destroyed. I may have to go up another half size in shoes.

On this run I carried my hydration belt with a 20 oz. bottle of Gatorade, one GU gel Espresso Love flavor (gotta love the 2x caffeine) that I consumed at mile 11, my Garmin GPS watch and my Ipod Nano. I also made a couple of quick stops at water fountains to supplement my Gatorade with H2O. Staying hydrated is not a problem on this particular course as I run by several parks.

Next weekend is the 21 mile benchmark – and it seems out of reach now. My knee is still sore and I’m worried that it won’t be 100% by Saturday. With a little over 3 weeks before the marathon – it too, seems an impossibility for me. Nevertheless – I’ll be back out on the pavement in a few days putting in more miles. Ever the optimist…

One Response to “18 miler turns into 16 miler”

  1. Scott said

    Hey Bunchgrasser —

    Just catching up on your blog. Yikes! Looks like you’re trying to catch up on injury time by running PFit’s benchmark run distances in consecutive weeks? For, like, four weeks in a row? No wonder you’re feeling it. I don’t know about yours, but I’m positive my body wouldn’t be able to handle that schedule. Good luck, but don’t feel bad if you don’t make Portland this year… keep yourself in one piece and able to make the next goal!

    – Scott

Leave a Reply

 
