Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

Post marathon update – 3 weeks later

Posted by bunchgrasser on November 1, 2008

Friday evening I rushed home from work, threw on my running gear and headed out the door for my first run since the marathon. Since we are losing Daylight Savings time this weekend, I knew it would be my last chance for a run in the daylight after work. Time to mentally prepare for several months of rain, cold and dark…ugh!

After the marathon, I committed to giving myself 2 full weeks of recovery time to help my sore knee heal up. It actually took 3 weeks. However, yesterday for the first time I noticed that my knee wasn’t feeling stiff and sore like usual. My blisters have healed. I still have 4 black toenails but they aren’t painful any longer.

I never imagined that I would say this, but not being able to run has been very tough on me. It’s a weird thing to say, but for whatever reason – running seems to get into your psyche and it becomes a part of you. When you deny yourself the product of your addiction it feels just like any other withdrawal symptom.

My run on Friday evening only ended up being 3 miles because I ran out of light. I was ok with that because my legs felt creaky and my cardio level has suffered these last 3 weeks. Still, it felt so good to be back on the pavement again.

Leave a Reply

 
