Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

Wet 6 miler – stepping out of the comfort zone

Posted by bunchgrasser on November 8, 2008

I recently decided that I wouldn’t let the weather dictate my running schedule. It seemed like an easy thing to do, but this morning my commitment was tested in a big way. I woke up this morning to dark, cloudy, unstable weather – but it wasn’t actually raining when I was making coffee and getting dressed. However, by the time I put on my Garmin and headed outside – it was coming down in buckets. This is the Oregon that I know and love (not)…

It isn’t that I mind running in the rain so much, but those first few minutes when you start out dry and then quickly transition to wet…not exactly my favorite thing. The only upside is that I was trying out my new blue Illuminite Milano running jacket that I found on clearance last week at a local sporting goods store. I’m a sucker for any kind of “technical” gear and I was really interested to see how long the jacket would shed water. It actually performed pretty well for a Teflon-coated “water resistant” jacket. The real test will be when I run at night. I’ve heard that these jackets have amazing reflective visibility.

In spite of the pouring rain, the 6 miler turned out well. It really felt good to get back on the pavement and my goal now is to ratchet up the mileage slowly. My knees still feel a little sore and creaky, but seem to be improving each time I run. I’m half way committed to a spring Marathon (I’m currently leaning towards the Eugene Marathon at present) assuming that my health and training continue in the right direction. I think it could potentially be challenging for me to get the miles I need during the winter season. Bad weather and the many holiday distractions will make it tougher to stay on track I think.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
