Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

8 miles of glorious sunshine…really

Posted by bunchgrasser on November 24, 2008

What can I say – Sunday was a day made for running. Mid 50’s, sunny, dry & no wind at all. I lingered in the house with a cup of coffee until around 10:00am (until the sun warmed things up a bit) and then headed out for an 8 miler. I took my Ipod Nano this time because music just seemed necessary. My preferred running music is techno and that thumping bass beat kept me riding high.

A couple of miles into my run, I noticed that my knees weren’t feeling creaky and sore like usual. In fact, my feet and ankles felt pretty good also. It was one of those days where everything seemed to line up perfectly. I chose an out-and-back course that I frequently run which has few street crossings and was mostly flat.

I was pushing my pace a little harder on the front 4, and by the time I hit the turnaround and headed back I could definitely feel it in my quads. This was my longest run since the marathon back in early October and it sure felt great running more than 5-6 miles. I’ve taken my time getting my mileage back up there due to sore feet and knees, and my cardio level has also suffered a little bit.

Nonetheless, Sunday’s run was one for the memory book. I can’t recall enjoying a run quite as much as this one. I just felt great the entire time. I don’t expect there to be many days like this, not at least until May or June. I’ll soon be running in the cold, gray drizzle again – and I’ll be thinking of this day.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
