Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

My 2009 running goals

Posted by bunchgrasser on January 3, 2009

Today is January 3rd, 2009 and I’ve decided to get an early start on my running goals for the year. The previous couple of years I kind of just did whatever felt right at the time but didn’t really set specific goals. My only true goal for last year was to train for, and complete my first marathon. I achieved this goal on October 5, 2008 when I finished the Portland Marathon in 4:33:53. Not a terribly impressive finish time – but I was thrilled to have my first marathon out of the way.

This year I plan to build on this achievement by running 2 marathons (one in the Spring and one in the Fall). My goals for 2009 are listed below:

  1. Remain injury free throughout 2009
  2. Break 1000 total miles for the 2009 calendar year
  3. Run the Eugene Marathon in under 4:10
  4. Run the Portland Marathon in under 4:00
  5. Run two Half Marathons (both under 2:00)
  6. Run at least two shorter races (5k-15k)

Well, there they are. Pretty simple when you look at them in print. I doubt I’ll feel the same when I’m nursing severe blisters and cramps in mile 19 – but that’s all part of the fun right?

Cheers

3 Responses to “My 2009 running goals”

  1. morgan2002 said

    Good luck with the running goals! I doubt I could reach 1000miles -done 830 ish for 2 consecutive years, done a half in 1hour50, my aim this year is 1hour45. And a full marathon has never appealed to me yet, maybe when I hit forty and need an incentive 😉

  2. bunchgrasser said

    Thanks for comment Morgan. yeah, 1000 miles may be a lofty goal for me as well. I was considerably below that number in 2008, but I had a couple of injuries that sidelined me for awhile. As I noted, my number one goal is to stay injury free this year. Best of luck to you this year!

  3. morgan2002 said

    Well my mileage last year was dreadful, 480. Did my ankle in though (walking!) which knocked a good month off running. I’ll aim for 800 miles I reckon, 10k next month and a half marathon in May!! I’m not a serious runner. If I can’t chat (when I’m running with someone), then its just no fun! 😉 Good luck you too! Liz x

Leave a Reply

 
