Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

The snow is gone…I’m back in the saddle

Posted by bunchgrasser on January 3, 2009

Well, Happy New Year to all. This is my first post in some time – and also my first post in 2009. The past couple of weeks have been quite an adventure with all of the snow and family holiday events going on.

Here in the Portland area we’ve had more snow than I can remember in years. It was the first white Christmas I can recall in many years as well. Great fun if you don’t have to travel much and like running indoors on a treadmill (I don’t).

Naturally, I’m way behind on my training due to the snow/ice and an extended cold that sapped most of my energy. In my younger days I would have ignored the cold and pressed on – but my 42 years of age wisdom tells me that doing so would be a bad idea. So, I’ve basically been laying around, eating too much, watching movies on TV and thinking about running.

Well, today I woke up feeling pretty decent – and a quick glance out the window confirmed there is still some snow left, but the streets are clear. I quickly grabbed my cold weather gear and well worn Asics Gel Kayanos and headed for the door. On my way out I checked my remote temp gauge and it read a frosty 36 degrees. Just right for my inaugural 2009 run.

I warmed up with a short walk and then proceeded on a wonderfully exhilarating 5 mile run through some neighborhoods near my home. It wasn’t a particularly long or fast run – but it was just what I needed.

I’m looking forward to a great year in 2009. I don’t do resolutions – but I already have my goals for the year mostly settled in my head. I’ll post my running goals in a subsequent entry.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
