Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

2009 Pints to Pasta 10k

Posted by bunchgrasser on September 14, 2009

I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to register and run the 2009 Pints to Pasta 10k on Sunday. My wife and daughter were already signed up, and when we picked up their packets I got caught up in the excitement and had to register myself.

I had planned to skip this race because my calf muscle/achilles tendon injury is still not quite healed. However, I’ve done a couple of short test runs this past week and with an easy pace my leg didn’t seem to hurt. I needed a test race to see how my leg would hold up in a competitive situation.

We parked near the Old Spaghetti Factory and took the shuttle (school) bus to the start line at the Adidas HQ on North Greeley. We got there pretty early so we had plenty of time to stretch, use the bathroom and contemplate the race. The first mile was all downhill, and against better judgment I took advantage of the free speed. Over the next 3-4 miles I settled into an easy pace and tried to monitor my left leg for any sign of trouble. Happily, it felt great the entire race. My cardio fitness level however had fallen off dramatically due to not running for almost 2 full months. Needless to say, my pace was not very impressive. I finished in 53:02 (8:32 pace) which put me 49/98 for my age group (366/790 for all men).

My wife and daughter both finished their first 10k race in just over an hour. I think they both enjoyed it and hopefully this is the first of many races that we will run as a family. I’m still working on getting my son to join us.

Big thanks to Dave & Paula Harkin at Portland Running for putting on another great race!

2009 Pints to Pasta 10k Results are posted here.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
