Bunchgrasser’s World

My unique filter on life

I just registered for my first ultra…

Posted by bunchgrasser on November 5, 2009

Yesterday I registered for my first ultra marathon, the Hagg Lake 50k Trail Run. After about 2 minutes of staring at the email confirmation, fear began to replace the excitement that I was feeling.

The first thought that came to mind was – I just wasted $60. It’s not that running 31 miles around a lake on a muddy trail bothers me. It’s more a question of whether I can make it to race day without any race-stopping over-use injuries. My past history hasn’t been good in this area. I’ve made several race fee donations over the past few years due to injuries. It seems every time I train for a long race (i.e. marathon), I end up with a sore leg or foot that either prevents me from racing, or affects my ability to run well.

I guess I’m one of those runners that doesn’t handle high mileage very well. It’s unfortunate because my attitude and psyche are both perfectly suited for long, endurance runs. I just need to get the muscles & tendons on board and I’ll be ready to kick some ultra ass!

I’m currently nursing a sore Achilles tendon which has been an on-again, off-again problem for me this year. Not sure how to get rid of it other than just stop running for a long period of time. I actually did that (2 months), but it came back again. I’m trying to approach this problem in a smart, realistic way – but the bottom line is that I need lots of miles to be ready for an ultra. My fingers are crossed..

Cheers

2 Responses to “I just registered for my first ultra…”

  1. John said

    Make sure there are no heel flanges, heel cups, or any other materials that press into your achilles when you’re running.

    Soft foam midsoles can cause cramps.

    • bunchgrasser said

      Good advice. Thanks!

      I’m using the same shoes that have given me plenty of miles with no problems. I’m not sure of the cause of my Achilles problems but I continue to try and sort it out.

      Bunchgrasser

Leave a Reply

 
